pedal prix Entries Surge

The significant level of demand and enthusiasm for human powered vehicle racing in Australia has been clearly demonstrated after entries for the 2023 UniSA Australian HPV Super Series opened yesterday.

The six round series has seen 235 teams enter from New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia in the first 24 hours.

“Entries began flooding in from the strike of 10:00am when registrations opened,” reported Marcus Lacey, CEO of the Series. “The bulk of these were submitted in the first 60 minutes, so we can see our sport is strong, with teams eager to lock in their spot on the grid.”

Round 4 of the Series at Tailem Bend’s international motor racing circuit, The Bend Motorsport Park has been the first to pass it’s registration limit of 180, with a waiting list now created. Adelaide’s secondary school event in June, the first race at The Bend, and the much anticiapated 24hr Australian Internastional Pedal Prix at Murray Bridge are all aprocahing entry limits. The season opening Round 1 at Mount Gambier is seeing close to the best numbers for this event in it’s history.

“We are thrilled to welcome teams from all across Australia to our events in 2023. The many thousands of people who gather to race and experience the thrill of Pedal Prix, as it is traditionally known, have created a very special community, one that is both expansive and inclusive, one where they themselves create and reap so many positive attributes and benefits while simply having a great time. We would like to thank the University of South Australia for their support and helping to make all of this possible” said Lacey.

The Series gets the green light in Mount Gambier on 1 April when teams take to the track at McNamara Park.

Registrations are expected to abate, but continue over coming days and can be made via the online portal here.

The full Series calendar is

Round 1               1 April                    McNamara Park                                Mount Gambier, SA

Round 2               20 May                  The Bend Motorsport Park             Tailem Bend, SA

Round 3               17 June                  Victoria Park                                     Adelaide, SA

Round 4               5 August               The Bend Motorsport Park             Tailem Bend, SA

Round 5               20 August             Geographe Bay                                 Busselton, WA

Round 6               16 September      Sturt Reserve                                    Murray Bridge, SA