the bend experience

The huge field assembled on the grid at The Bend Motorsport Park

The UniSA Australian HPV Super Series broke new ground on Sunday when Round 2 was held at The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend.  The international award winning motor racing circuit was expansive, smooth, and utilising a 3.4km circuit variant, new for all of us. Additionally, it incorporated amenities such as accommodation overlooking the circuit, purpose built pit garages and dining facilities, indeed a new experience.

Thousands of competitors, families and supporters gathered to sample the new venue, with some 180 Human Powered Vehicles lining up for the 10:00am start. The huge array of arrow shaped vehicles prepared at the start of the long straight ready to start was a sight to behold.

Battles took place across the categories as riders settled in for the 6 hour endurance race, none closer or more frenetic than the contest for the outright win. Aurora Racing’s Aurora and Wattle Racing’s Gunyah staged a clash for the ages with the two trading places a number of times. As the clock counted down, the final stage riders gave it their all with Aurora taking the victory by just 4.9secs – after 6 hours of racing!

Across the schools’ categories, Pembroke School showed strong form taking out both the Middle (S2) and Senior (S3) school categories, while Crafers Primary School won category S1, Junior school.

The next round of the UniSA Australian HPV Super Series will be held at Adelaide’s Victoria Park on the weekend of 18-20 June.

Gunyah leads Aurora on the back of the circuit – a day long battle.

Winners – by just 4.9 secs – Aurora

Round 2 Winners


C7 1st #52 Aurora Racing Aurora⠀
C6 1st #12 GTrikes Racing MatrixPro J⠀⠀
C5 1st #218 Peninsula Human Power Kids Krew⠀
C4 1st #34 Pipsqueak Racing Pipsqueak⠀⠀
S3 1st #16 Pembroke School Phoenix⠀⠀
S2 1st #3 Pembroke School Radar⠀⠀
S1 1st #194 Crafers Primary School The Comet

All Female

S1 1st #11 Holy Trinity Lutheran College : Hurricane (F)⠀
S2 1st #10 Holy Trinity Lutheran College : Avalanche (F)⠀
S3 1st #9 Pembroke School : The Devil (F)⠀
C6 1st #35 Pipsqueak Racing Sarcastic (F)⠀
C7 1st #27 Team Relentless : Shes Relentless (F)


C7 1st Masters #219 Peninsula Human Power Older Kids⠀

Series Leaders

  • S1 1st #31 Holy Trinity Lutheran College Thunder 298 points
  • S1 1st #11 Holy Trinity Lutheran College : Hurricane (All Female) 284 points
  • S2 1st #3 Pembroke School Radar 300 points
  • S2 1st #10 Holy Trinity Lutheran College : Avalanche (All Female) 274 points
  • S3 1st #16 Pembroke School Phoenix 300 points
  • S3 1st #90 Kingston Community School Nemo (All Female) 272 points
  • C4 1st #34 Pipsqueak Racing Pipsqueak/#23 Horsham West & Haven Primary School Visper Equal on 299 points
  • C5 1st #42 Bruce Racing Bruce Junior 299 points
  • C6 1st #12 GTrikes Racing MatrixPro J 299 points
  • C6 1st #35 Pipsqueak Racing Sarcastic (All Female) 288 points
  • C7 1st #52 Aurora Racing Aurora 300 points⠀
  • C7 1st #27 Team Relentless : Shes Relentless (All Female) 277 points
  • C7 1st #219 Peninsula Human Power Older Kids (Masters) 287 points


For all the results go to