Uni sa ahpvss ready to roll








The 2019 UniSA Australian Human Powered Vehicle Super Series (AHPVSS) is set for action!

This exciting and ever growing six round calendar of events gets the green light on the 30th of March in Mt Gambier, SA and finishes with the biggest Human Powered Vehicle (HPV) race in the world on the 22nd of September in Murray Bridge, SA. Along the way, teams travel to South Australia’s Riverland town of Loxton, the capital of South Australia, Adelaide, and traverse the wide brown Nullarbor Plain to reach the picturesque seaside city of Busselton in Western Australia.

The Series, conducted by Australian International Pedal Prix Inc., is a world class program of HPV racing events which provides action packed racing over durations of 6 to 24 hours. It also provides the opportunity for educational and community learning experiences. These include enterprise, engineering, technology, competition, teamwork, safety, health, nutrition, fitness, sustainability and the environment.

“The 2019 Uni SA AHPVSS presents as the most established and well credentialed in the history of the Series,” stated AIPP Inc Chairman Andrew McLachlan. “The Western Australia Round in Busselton is now firmly developed, cross border entries continue to grow, particularly from Victoria, and our set of vehicle specifications is now being adopted nationally,” he added.

The organisation aims to evolve into an expanded Australian Championship and confirm a major position of global standing in HPV racing beyond what it has already achieved.

Entries for the 2019 Series have soared once again as early submissions already total 290, and final numbers of teams are expected to be well into the 300’s. Round 1 at Mt Gambier will see 76 teams take part, a new record. These teams come from all over South Australia, as well as a significant interstate contingent.

Categories within The Series fall under two classifications of “School Categories” and “Open Categories”. School Categories allow for school based entries and are well supported across both the independent and public school sector. Open Categories provide the opportunity for community based teams to enter. Many of these entrants took up the sport while at school and now have a means to continue competing at the highest level. There are also Sub Categories for All Female teams in both School and Open Categories, and for Solo entries and Masters within the Open Category.

The Series continues to offer top level HPV racing and growth thanks to the support of Series naming sponsor, University of South Australia. In conjunction with the support of local councils in Mount Gambier, Loxton, Busselton and Murray Bridge, the Uni SA AHPVSS goes from strength to strength. 


2019 UniSA Australian Human Powered Vehicle Super Series

Rnd 1  Mount Gambier         8 hour            McNamara Park        March 30th

Rnd 2  Loxton                      6 hour            Street Circuit             May 5th

Rnd 3  Adelaide Race 1        6 hour            Victoria Park             June 15 – 16th

Rnd 4  Adelaide Race 2        6 hour            Victoria Park             July 27 – 28th

Rnd 5  Busselton                 6 hour            Street Circuit             August 18th

Rnd 6  Murray Bridge            24 hour            Street Circuit             September 21 – 22nd


Uni SA AHPVSS School Category Series Champions 2018

S1 Junior School – Highgate Primary School

S1F Junior School (All Female) – Horsham West and Haven Primary School

S2 Middle School – Pembroke School

S2F Middle School (All Female) – Pembroke School

S3 Senior School – Mount Barker High School

S3F Senior School (All Female) – Loxton High School


Uni SA AHPVSS Open Category Series Champions 2018

C4 Under 14 – New Category

C4F Under 14 (All Female) – New Category

C5 Under 17 – Roof Rack City Racing

C5F Under 17 (All Female – New Category)

C6 Under 20 – Wattle Racing

C6F Under 20 (All Female) – GTrikes/Rode RAGE

C7 Open – Team Relentless

C7F Open (All Female) – Wattle Racing

C7M Open – Masters – EDEC

C7MF Open – Masters (All Female – New Category)

C7S Open – Male Solo (New Category)

C7SF Open – Female Solo (New Category)